08.11.2018 Café de Flore #litterature

Raphaël Rupert wins the 2018 Prix de Flore

Marguerite Duras, Simone de Beauvoir, Jean-Paul Sartre… The great names in French literature have made Saint-Germain-des-Prés a major centre of the Parisian intellectual life. Irrevocably associated with writers, the Café de Flore now welcomes customers from all over the world who want to put themselves in the shoes of the intellectuals who inhabited these places half a century ago. In 1994, while many bookstores were replaced by luxury boutiques, Frédéric Beigbeder and Carole Chrétiennot decided to create the Prix de Flore in order to revive the literary tradition of Saint-Germain-des-Prés. Each year, the Prize recognizes a promising author with original talent. After Zarka and Pierre Ducrozet, both winners in 2017, Raphaël Rupert received the jury’s honors last night in a crowded out Café. Chaired by Frédéric Beigbeder and composed of Manuel Carcassonne, Carole Chrétiennot, Michèle Fitoussi, François Reynaert and Christophe Tison (to name but a few), the jury chose “Anatomie de l’amant de ma femme” as the 2018 revelation. The author, an urban planner by profession, will receive a grant of 6,150 euros and be entitled throughout the year to a glass of Pouilly-fumé engraved in his name…

More events