26.11.2018 Le Georges #media

GQ Men of the Year 2018 and a decade of influence

There are many ways to have an influence on the world. Some make others laugh, dream… But all provide endless inspiration. Each year, GQ magazine celebrate those people (essentially men) with their “Men of the Year” awards. For the 2018 edition, GQ France shook things up by adding to their top picks the “Men of the decade” award to celebrate the magazine’s 10th anniversary. Among the winners in this category: Thierry Marx (“Chef of the decade”), Didier Deschamps (“Manager of the decade”), Clément Chabernaud (“Male model of the decade”) or Orelsan (“Musician of the decade”). Among the other winners: Vincent Lacoste, MHD, author Riad Sattouf, François Gabart and… Christiane Taubira! Yes, women can also be “Men of the Year” says GQ. With this choice, the magazine sends a strong message of equality, not only by adding the first woman to their winners list but also by naming her “Politician of the Decade” (Taubira is the only politician to appear on the list). During the awards ceremony hosted by Frédéric Beigbeder at Le Georges (Centre Pompidou), all the winners came to collect their trophies, and it was also the occasion for GQ to reward actor Christoph Waltz with a special prize.

Photos: Cédric Canezza

More events